Sunday, January 26, 2014

Quick Review: GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE

Sorry it took me so long to get to this.

I'm announcing the winner of WHATEVER AFTER in tomorrow's MMGM post. So check back in tomorrow!


Title: GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE

Author: Shelley Coriell

Cover:





Format reviewing: ARC

Goodreads says: 
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Favorite character: Macey

Favorite line: "Ride a shopping cart down the candy aisle at Target screaming, 'The British are coming! The British are coming!'"

Quick Review:
I loved how the book was written from the first person POV. It allowed for me to really tap into Rebel's mind. The book was thought-provoking, but Rebel's humor keep it from being to depressing. There were some things left unexplained. However, I was okay with that. I felt as if this was just a small part of someone's life. There were things in her past that we didn't get to see, but it worked in the way in which it was presented. I wish I could have seen more of Macey. It would have been great to read more about exactly what made her the way she was, not have it just mentioned and dismissed.

Starred review: 4.3/5

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks! I love comments.