Friday, January 31, 2014

Yay!

I was able to make my goal this month! (Yes, I understand this is a little bit of a cheat....)

Thank you so much for a fabulous January!

Monday, January 27, 2014

MMGM: THE OUTLANDISH ADVENTURES OF LIBERTY AIMES

Before I begin my MMGM, I'd like to announce the winner of a copy of WHATEVER AFTER. Prepare the confetti...

~Mark Baker~

Mark, you have one week to email me at birdie(dot)on(dot)books(at)gmail(dot)com to claim your prize! A special thanks to everyone who entered!

Goodreads says:
Liberty Aimes has spent all of her ten years captive in her parents' crooked old house on Gooch Street. Her spry father, Mal Aimes, is a crook who sells insurance, while her overweight mother sits at home in front of the TV, demanding that Liberty cook nonstop, everything from fried clams and fried hot dogs to ice cream sundaes. Liberty's only knowledge of the outside world comes from the secret stash of children's books and fairy tales she discovered beneath the floorboards.
    One day, Liberty works up the courage to enter her father's forbidden basement laboratory. There she discovers a world of talking animals and magic potions. With the aid of one such potion, Liberty escapes into the world--and learns that she can talk to animals. She decides her destiny is to find the renowned Sullivan School, where she can live and get an education. Along the way, she meets a wacky cast of characters--some become true friends, but others want to kidnap her.


My review:
I adore this book. Kelly Easton is such a great author with a very fun writing style. This book has a few fun illustrations with larger print for children just starting to read chapter books. It's better for older readers too. The characters are great, and the story, which may not be completely realistic, is entertaining and wonderful. I can't say too many good things about this amazing book!

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Quick Review: GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE

Sorry it took me so long to get to this.

I'm announcing the winner of WHATEVER AFTER in tomorrow's MMGM post. So check back in tomorrow!


Title: GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE

Author: Shelley Coriell

Cover:





Format reviewing: ARC

Goodreads says: 
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Favorite character: Macey

Favorite line: "Ride a shopping cart down the candy aisle at Target screaming, 'The British are coming! The British are coming!'"

Quick Review:
I loved how the book was written from the first person POV. It allowed for me to really tap into Rebel's mind. The book was thought-provoking, but Rebel's humor keep it from being to depressing. There were some things left unexplained. However, I was okay with that. I felt as if this was just a small part of someone's life. There were things in her past that we didn't get to see, but it worked in the way in which it was presented. I wish I could have seen more of Macey. It would have been great to read more about exactly what made her the way she was, not have it just mentioned and dismissed.

Starred review: 4.3/5

Monday, January 20, 2014

MMGM fail

I couldn't find time this weekend to do a MMGM. I'm hoping I can do a Quick Review later this week.

If you want to win a copy of WHATEVER AFTER: FAIREST OF ALL, I have one up for grabs right over here. Check that out!

Monday, January 13, 2014

MMGM: THE GREAT WALL OF LUCY WU

I don't have a giveaway for this post, but I do have one for WHATEVER AFTER. Hop on over there to enter! Now, back to the star of today's post.


Goodreads says:
In this humorous and heartfelt debut about a split cultural identity, nothing goes according to plan for sixth-grader Lucy Wu.

Lucy Wu, aspiring basketball star and interior designer, is on the verge of having the best year of her life. She's ready to rule the school as a sixth grader and take over the bedroom she has always shared with her sister. In an instant, though, her plans are shattered when she finds out that Yi Po, her beloved grandmother's sister, is coming to visit for several months -- and is staying in Lucy's room. Lucy's vision of a perfect year begins to crumble, and in its place come an unwelcome roommate, foiled birthday plans, and Chinese school with the awful Talent Chang.


My review:
I have read this book so many times I've lost count. Every single time I read it I find myself being inspired and drawing new meanings from the story. Lucy is such a real character and I love her so much.  It was great to see Lucy learn not to judge people based upon a first impression. I really can't say anything bad about this book.

Stars: 4.5 out of 5

Monday, January 6, 2014

MMGM: WHATEVER AFTER: FAIREST OF ALL & GIVEAWAY!!

Not only do I have a MMGM for you today, I also have a GIVEAWAY!!

I had this on my TBR list. I finally broke down and got it. And it was a bit of a mistake. Now I'm addicted and will end up spending WAY to much on these things it only takes me forty-five minutes to read.

The cover:

Goodreads states:
A fresh, modern spin on a classic fairy tale--from bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski!
Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .
Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White's fairy tale.
I know it sounds crazy, but it's true.
But hey -- we're heroes! We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn't die, she won't get to meet her prince. And then she won't get her happy ending. Oops.
Now it's up to us to:
- Avoid getting poisoned
- Sneak into a castle
- Fix Snow White's story
And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.


My review:
Fairy-tale spin offs are one of the most popular things right now. They are almost everywhere! This book does a great job introducing girls ages six to nine to this genre. Like most of the spin-offs, Ms. Mlynowski uses the real version of the Snow White tale.

What was special about this book was the fact that it strayed heavily from the original. Usually I would be very upset about this, but Ms. Mlynowski does it so well that I hope to see it done in other books. I loved Abby's voice. It reminded me of the writing style of THE WITCHY WORRIES OF ABBIE ADAM.

Lots of mystery and foreshadowing that I'm sure will come up in the next books.  

I wish that Snow was a little more developed, but other than that, great read! 

4 stars out of 5!

If you want to enter to win a copy of WHATEVER AFTER: FAIREST OF ALL, simply comment below! Open to residents of the US only. I'm sorry, but I can't afford the shipping.


Contest closes January 23, 2014 at 5:00 PM Pacific Time. Winner will be posted on the website, so check back to see if you've won! Once announced, you'll have 168 hours (also known as a week) to contact me and claim your prize!!

 

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Guess What?!

I just checked my view count and I have...

1,013 VIEWS!!!


Thank you so much guys! This is AMAZING!!

I'll get back to setting up my MMGM. 


Thursday, January 2, 2014

Review: BOOK OF A THOUSAND DAYS

Let's kick off the one-and-a-half day old year with a review!

BOOK OF A THOUSAND DAYS is a fabulous story by Shannon Hale. Ms. Hale has written many great books for kids and teens. A well-known piece of work is her PRINCESS ACADEMY, which was awarded the Newbery Honor.

Goodreads says:

When Dashti, a maid, and Lady Saren, her mistress, are shut in a tower for seven years for Saren’s refusal to marry a man she despises, the two prepare for a very long and dark imprisonment.
As food runs low and the days go from broiling hot to freezing cold, it is all Dashti can do to keep them fed and comfortable. But the arrival outside the tower of Saren’s two suitors—one welcome, and the other decidedly less so—brings both hope and great danger, and Dashti must make the desperate choices of a girl whose life is worth more than she knows.
With Shannon Hale’s lyrical language, this forgotten but classic fairy tale from the Brothers Grimm is reimagined and reset on the central Asian steppes; it is a completely unique retelling filled with adventure and romance, drama and disguise.

My review:
This book was written in a diary-like format with small sketches throughout. The way you were able to see the hope when the girls first entered the tower, then the pain as the rats destroyed their food supply was wonderfully written. I did not like some of the magic in the end. I hoped the story would stick with the current laws of physics. There were some moments where you were unsure of what would happen next, but most of the story was predictable.  I would rate this book slightly above average.

3.5 stars out of 5.